Item 3b

Time: 11.00 a.m.

SEDGEFIELD BOROUGH COUNCIL

Council Chamber, Council Offices, Spennymoor

Monday, 16 March 2009

Present: Councillor J. Robinson J.P (Mayor) and

Councillors Mrs. A.M. Armstrong, B.F. Avery J.P, W.M. Blenkinsopp,

Mrs. D. Bowman, V. Chapman, D. Chaytor, Mrs. K. Conroy, Mrs. P. Crathorne, V. Crosby, Mrs. L. M.G. Cuthbertson, D. Farry,

T.F. Forrest, P. Gittins J.P., Mrs. B. Graham, A. Gray, G.C. Gray, Mrs. I. Hewitson, J.E. Higgin, Mrs. L. Hovvels, J.G. Huntington, Mrs. H.J. Hutchinson, Mrs. S. J. Iveson, Ms. I. Jackson, J.M. Khan, B. Lamb, Mrs. E. Maddison, D.A. Newell, B.M. Ord, Mrs. E.M. Paylor,

Mrs. C. Potts, T. Ward and W. Waters

Apologies: Councillors T. Brimm, D.R. Brown, J. Burton, Mrs. J. Gray, B. Haigh,

Mrs. S. Haigh, D.M. Hancock, A. Hodgson, T. Hogan, G.M.R. Howe, C. Nelson, A. Smith, B. Stephens, K. Thompson, A. Warburton and

Mrs E. M. Wood

C.65/08 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillor Mrs. E. Maddison stated that she had a personal interest in Item 3 relating to Honorary Aldermen as she had voted against the amendment at the meeting on 27th February for the change of criteria to appoint Honorary Alderman. Mrs. Maddison indicated that she would remain in the meeting and take no part in any vote.

C.66/08 LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972 - SECTION 249 HONORARY ALDERMEN

N.B. In accordance with Section 81 of the Local Government Act 2000 and the members Code of Conduct Councillor Mrs E Maddison declared a personal interest in this item and remained in the meeting but took no part in the discussion or voting thereon.

Consideration was given to a report of the Chief Executive (for copy see file of Minutes) in respect of the office of Honorary Alderman.

It was explained that a Special Meeting of Council had been convened in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 for the purpose of conferring the title of Honorary Alderman on 22 Members of Sedgefield Borough Council.

The title was to be bestowed on persons who have, in the opinion, of the Council rendered eminent service to the authority in accordance with the criteria agreed on 27th February 2009

The Members outlined in the report had indicated their willingness to accept the title of Honorary Alderman.

RESOLVED :	That the office of Honorary Alderman be bestowed on the 22 Members outlined in the report.
ACCESS TO INFORMATION Any person wishing to exercise the right of icontact Liz North 01388 816166 ext 4237 ex	nspection, etc., in relation to these Minutes and associated papers should mail:enorth@sedgefield.gov.uk